Aspendos is located not far from Antalya just in 45 km. It is worth to drive there to see outstanding historical monuments. Aspendos witnessed the reigning of Alexander the Great as it was the part of several great empires. This city was famous for its tradesmen which were prosperous selling an ordinary salt. Byzantine era brought many interesting happenings to the city but it was broke by Arabic conquerors as it was a common fact for many cities in this region. In fact, the city was completely empty in the 18th century.
Aspendos is peculiar for its buildings and monuments as they survived in a very nice condition. The enormous theatre impressing by its dimensions is used today for conducting one of the most popular festivals in the world which gather the opera and ballet celebrities.

Interesting facts:
• It is considered that the theatre in this city was the prototype of the world known Coliseum;
• The Aspendos theatre introduced a theatre curtain for the first time;
• The local aqueduct represents one of the most developed drain systems of those times and its total length was 15 km.

The legends connected to Aspendos are absolutely striking and the ruins covering this territory can prove the power of the city. You will definitely enjoy your trip to this ancient place and you will probably have a desire to study its history more precisely.

Aspendos, Turkey

Aspendos, Turkey

Aspendos, Turkey

Aspendos, Turkey

Aspendos, Turkey

Aspendos, Turkey

Aspendos, Turkey

Aspendos, Turkey

Aspendos, Turkey

Necropolis

Aspendos, Turkey

Stadium

Aspendos, Turkey

Text: Jevgeniy Nazarenko

Аспендос расположился неподалеку от Антальи. Всего 45 километров – и пейзаж кардинально меняется, предлагая полное погружение в толщи истории. Так, Аспендос знавал Александра Македонского, был частью разных великих империй, славился своими торговцами, которые разбогатели на продаже самой обычной соли. Византийский период подарил городу много интересных событий, но, как это часто бывает, был прерван арабами-завоевателями. Достоверно известно, что в 18 веке город окончательно опустел…

Особенностью Аспендоса можно считать тот факт, что памятники архитектуры и культуры в нем сохранились практически идеально. Огромный театр, впечатляющий своими размерами, и сегодня используется для проведения одного из знаменитых во всем мире фестивалей, на котором выступают звезды мировой оперы и балета.

Интересные факты:
• считается, что театр в этом городе был прообразом знаменитого римского Колизея;
• именно здесь, в театре Аспендоса, впервые появился настоящий театральный занавес;
• местный акведук представляет одну из самых развитых систем водостоков того времени, его общая длина составила 15 км.

Легенды, связанные с Аспендосом, будоражат воображение, а руины, разбросанные на достаточно большой площади, позволяют стать невольным свидетелем былого могущества этого города. Путешествие вглубь времен оставляет приятное послевкусие и желание изучать историю более пристально.

Аспендос, Турция

Аспендос, Турция

Аспендос, Турция

Аспендос, Турция

Аспендос, Турция

Аспендос, Турция

Аспендос, Турция

Аспендос, Турция

Аспендос, Турция

Некрополь

Аспендос, Турция

Стадион

Аспендос, Турция

Текст: Евгений Назаренко