Milet – ancient Greek city, it went down in history as one of the oldest cities with a high cultural level, development of trade relations on a par with Ephesus and Troy (Milesians founded to 90 colonies on the coasts of the Black and Marmara seas, and one in Egypt). In Miletus he lived and worked the ancient Greek philosopher and mathematician, laid the foundations of Greek culture and statehood, as well as the European science in general, "Father of philosophy" Phales of Mileth.

Miletus - MILET

According to the records of Herodotus, Milet was laid Carians. About three thousand years ago in the place came the Ionians conquered and transformed the city into the center of trade. The city developed and flourished until 494 years BC - the year of its conquest by the Persians. The geographical location and commercial importance of Miletus did not give rest to the conquerors.

After 15 years after the Persian conquest of his regained the Ionians, and in 334 BC entered the city the army of Alexander the Great. During the reign of the Byzantines on the territory of Milet was built Balat castle , gave the name of the town, the former in the course of the Muslims.

Miletus, The ancient city of Miletus

Even now it attracts the attention of a special town planning, which involved Hippodamus, a well-known activist and theorist in the field of urban development. His beautiful urban planning system has been used not only in ancient times. Hippodamus brought principle, by which the city secondary streets have traced at right angles to the central. It is used in the design of modern cities. Aristotle points, that the old master was involved in the design and planning Athenian port of Piraeus, cities Furies and Rhodes. The activities of the scientist and his contribution to the development of urban planning systems studied up to now.

Miletus, The ancient city of Miletus

Plan of Milet

Connoisseurs of antiquity have long haunted mysterious ruins. But excavations began relatively recently - in the 1899 , with the supply of German scientists. For more than a century the work of archaeologists could dig up about a third of the historical territory of the city.

The most famous tourist attraction ancient Miletus - roomy antik theater - survived to our times. The building was built by the Romans, instead of more long-time Greek theatre. Over time, the building was converted into a fortress.

Miletus, The ancient city of Miletus

Miletus, The ancient city of Miletus

Miletus, The ancient city of Miletus

Miletus, The ancient city of Miletus

Space-planning solutions Miletus

City conditionally consists of three zones: community center, residential buildings and shopping areas, adjacent to the Lion's Harbour. This is the modern name, It was awarded for discoveries, found in the sea: after one of the battles, of which in these places was a lot of, in water were stone lion heads. Likely, they belonged to the broken statues, once adorned the port area. According to the beliefs of the time, Lions had to hold enemies at the entrance to the city.

The central area of ​​settlement consists of two parts, one of which includes a gymnasium, stadium and carefully planned park area. The second part of the center contained retail space, next to its housed social and administrative buildings.

Milet we called one of the main focal point of Asia Minor Philosophy and trade of that time. In the best of times here constantly living up to 100 thousand.

Miletus, The ancient city of Miletus

Miletus, The ancient city of Miletus

Miletus, The ancient city of Miletus

Miletus, The ancient city of Miletus

Miletus, The ancient city of Miletus

Miletus, The ancient city of Miletus

Miletus, The ancient city of Miletus

Miletus, The ancient city of Miletus

Miletus, The ancient city of Miletus

Miletus, The ancient city of Miletus

Miletus, The ancient city of Miletus

Why Miletus fell into disrepair?

Despite many wars, not only they have shaken glory of city. Milet suffered due to the nature of jokes, what happened not only with him. The sea has changed the coastline, and settlement, stood on the shore, it turned a few kilometers from the water. Popular the social and economic center were abandoned. He fell under Turkish rule in 1328 year. It was not well-known center of trade and education. Gradually, it regressed in a quiet and small village called Palatia.

Since the time of the decline of the city preserved magnificent theater, standing on the hill in the area. The theater could seat 15 thousand. For its basics used strong foundation destroyed earlier Greek theater. The ruins of the Balata preserved at the peak of the hill, it was Castle Byzantine times (VIII century). If you go up the hill and explore the surrounding area, you can see a very picturesque landscape. These views could enjoy the ancient inhabitants of Miletus in the heyday.

Miletus, The ancient city of Miletus

Miletus, The ancient city of Miletus

Miletus, The ancient city of Miletus

Miletus, The ancient city of Miletus

Miletus, The ancient city of Miletus

Miletus, The ancient city of Miletus

Miletus, The ancient city of Miletus

Miletus, The ancient city of Miletus

Miletus, The ancient city of Miletus

Miletus, The ancient city of Miletus

Miletus, The ancient city of Miletus

Miletus, The ancient city of Miletus

Miletus, The ancient city of Miletus

Miletus, The ancient city of Miletus

Miletus, The ancient city of Miletus

Miletus, The ancient city of Miletus

Miletus, The ancient city of Miletus

Miletus, The ancient city of Miletus

Miletus, The ancient city of Miletus

Milesians were lucky in their activities, and people of the ancient world called them "Minions of happiness". Place on the coast was very gracious.

Miletus, The ancient city of Miletus

Ancient Miletus on the map

Text and photos: Evgeny Nazarenko

Милет — древнегреческий город, вошел в историю как один из древнейших городов с высоким культурным уровнем, развитыми торговыми связями наравне с Эфесом и Троей (милетцы основали до 90 колоний на побережьях Черного и Мраморного морей и одну в Египте). В Милете жил и творил древнегреческий философ и математик, заложивших основы греческой культуры и государственности, а также европейской науки в целом, «отец философии» Фалес Милетский.

Miletus - MILET

Согласно записям Геродота, Милет был заложен карийцами. Около трех тысяч лет назад в эти места пришли ионийцы и превратили завоеванный город в средоточие торговли. Город развивался и расцветал до 494 года до н.э – года его завоевания персами. Географическое расположение и торговое значение Милета не давали покоя завоевателям.

Спустя 15 лет после персидского завоевания его вернули себе ионийцы, а в 334 году до н.э в город вошли войска Александра Великого. Во времена правления византийцев на территории Милета был возведен замок Балат, давший городу название, бывшее в ходу у мусульман.

Miletus, Античный город Милет

Даже сейчас привлекает внимание особая планировка города, которой занимался Гипподам, известный деятель и теоретик в градостроительной сфере. Его прекрасная система городской планировки использовалась не только в давние времена. Гипподам вывел принцип, по которому в городе второстепенные улицы должны трассироваться под прямыми углами к центральным. Он используется при проектировании современных городов. Аристотель указывает, что древний мастер принимал участие в проектировании и разбивке афинского порта Пирей, городов Фурии и Родоса. Деятельность ученого и его вклад в развитие градостроительной системы изучается до сих пор.

Miletus, Античный город Милет

План города Милет

Ценителям старины давно не давали покоя таинственные развалины. Но раскопки начались сравнительно недавно – в 1899 году с подачи немецких ученых. За более чем вековую работу археологов удалось раскопать около трети исторической территории города.

Самая знаменитая достопримечательность древнего Милета — вместительный театр — сохранилась до наших времен. Постройка была возведена римлянами вместо еще более давнего греческого театра. Со временем сооружение было превращено в крепость.

Miletus, Античный город Милет

Miletus, Античный город Милет

Miletus, Античный город Милет

Miletus, Античный город Милет

Объемно-планировочные решения Милета

Город условно состоит из трех зон: общественного центра, жилой застройки и торговых кварталов, примыкающих к Львиной гавани. Это современное название, оно было присвоено из-за находки, обнаруженной в морских водах: после одной из битв, коих в этих местах было множество, в воде оказались каменные львиные головы. Скорее всего, они принадлежали разбитым статуям, когда-то украшавшим портовую территорию. По верованиям того времени, львы должны были задержать врагов на входе в город.

Центральная территория поселения состоит из двух частей, одна из которых включает в себя гимнасий, стадион и тщательно спланированную парковую зону. Вторая часть центра содержала торговые помещения, рядом с которыми размещались общественно-административные здания.

Милет называли одним из главных средоточий малоазийской философии и торговли того времени. В самые лучшие времена тут постоянно проживало до 100 тысяч человек.

Miletus, Античный город Милет

Miletus, Античный город Милет

Miletus, Античный город Милет

Miletus, Античный город Милет

Miletus, Античный город Милет

Miletus, Античный город Милет

Miletus, Античный город Милет

Miletus, Античный город Милет

Miletus, Античный город Милет

Miletus, Античный город Милет

Miletus, Античный город Милет

Почему Милет пришел в упадок?

Несмотря на множество войн, не только они пошатнули славу города. Милет пострадал из-за шуток природы, что произошло не только с ним одним. Море изменило береговую линию, и поселение, стоявшее на самом берегу, очутилось в нескольких километрах от воды. Популярный социальный и экономический центр со временем оказался заброшенным. Он попал под турецкое господство в 1328 году. Это был уже не тот известный центр торговли и просвещения. Постепенно он регрессировал в тихую и небольшую деревню под названием Палатия.

Со времен упадка города сохранился великолепный театр, стоящий на единственном в этой местности холме. Строение вмещало до 15 тысяч человек. Для его основы использовался крепкий фундамент разрушенного ранее греческого театра. На пике этого же холма сохранились развалины Балата, замка византийских времен (VIII в.). Если подняться на холм и осмотреть окрестности, можно увидеть весьма живописный пейзаж. Им могли наслаждаться жители древнего Милета в период расцвета.

Miletus, Античный город Милет

Miletus, Античный город Милет

Miletus, Античный город Милет

Miletus, Античный город Милет

Miletus, Античный город Милет

Miletus, Античный город Милет

Miletus, Античный город Милет

Miletus, Античный город Милет

Miletus, Античный город Милет

Miletus, Античный город Милет

Miletus, Античный город Милет

Miletus, Античный город Милет

Miletus, Античный город Милет

Miletus, Античный город Милет

Miletus, Античный город Милет

Miletus, Античный город Милет

Miletus, Античный город Милет

Miletus, Античный город Милет

Miletus, Античный город Милет

Милетцам сопутствовала удача в их деятельности, за это жители древнего мира называли их «баловнями счастья». Место на побережье оказалось очень благодатным.

Miletus, Античный город Милет

Античный Милет на карте

Текст и фото: Евгений Назаренко