If we turn to the past we will notice the tragic features of Xanthos history while it was the most independent city for a long period. When Persians came to this land the Xanthos soldiers did not want to surrender and decided to burn their wives and children together with the slaves. The powerful city was destroyed by madness and pain. Later many famous leader governed in this city, they were changing several times, the city was frequently devastated and destroyed but it was also frequently renovated.

Xanthos is a Turkish antique pearl which impresses travellers by its ruins. There are an antique theatre, necropolis, a Roman arch, the Lycian tombs, a Byzantine church that has a traditional mosaic floor. It is striking that the remnants of this city were found a while ago in the 19th century and the interest of European archeologists proved the value of the finding. Many artifacts found here are demonstrated in the most popular museums of the world.

This city is included to the UNESCO list and is considered to be one of the most prominent monuments of ancient history.

When you see Xanthos you come to another world, touch ancientness and feel the power of an age-old history. There are only ruins remained from the city but they perfectly demonstrate the development of the civilization. You should certainly include this point to your excursion list as it really impresses and you will remember this city for many years. Not all of the Xanthos city have been discovered yet as there are many archeological expeditions still working trying to find something new and unknown.

Xanthos Turkey Photo

Xanthos Turkey Photo

Xanthos Turkey Photo

Xanthos Turkey Photo

Text: Jevgeniy Nazarenko

Если заглянуть в прошедшие века, то история этого города носит на себе трагический отпечаток, хотя длительное время именно этот город был самым независимым из всех. Когда же на эти земли пришли персы, сами жители города, воины Ксантоса, не возжелав сдаваться им, сожгли своих жен и детей, а вместе с ними и рабов. Безумие и боль разрушили некогда великий город… Позже здесь правили многие известные правители, город много раз переходил из пук в руки, был неоднократно разоренным и разрушенным, но практически всегда восстанавливался.

Ксантос, одна из турецких колыбелей античности, сегодня удивляет своими руинами, среди которых неизменные античный театр и некрополь, римская арка, ликийские гробницы, византийская церковь, пол в которой традиционно выложен красивейшей мозаикой. Интересно, что останки этого города были найдены не так давно, всего лишь в середине 19 века, но внимание к нему археологов из Европы продемонстрировало ценность находки. Многие артефакты, найденные здесь, сегодня хранятся в самых известных музеях мира.

Этот объект включен в список ЮНЕСКО и относится к величайшим памятникам древней истории.

Посетить Ксантос – это значит попасть в иной мир, прикоснуться к древности, почувствовать вес многовековой истории. Несмотря на то, что от города остались только руины, они очень ярко демонстрируют развитие цивилизации. Безусловно, этот пункт просто обязателен в плане экскурсий, ведь впечатляет и оставляет после себя память на долгие годы. А тайны Ксантоса на этом не заканчиваются, ведь там и сегодня работают международные архитектурные экспедиции, которые надеются найти нечто новое и неизведанное.

Ксантос Турция фото

Ксантос Турция фото

Ксантос Турция фото

Ксантос Турция фото

Текст: Евгений Назаренко